Corvette Forums - Corvette Enthusiast Site

Corvette Forums - Corvette Enthusiast Site (https://www.corvetteforums.com/forum/)
-   Corvette C3 Forum (https://www.corvetteforums.com/forum/corvette-c3-forum-15/)
-   -   1979 Vette charging problem (https://www.corvetteforums.com/forum/corvette-c3-forum-15/1979-vette-charging-problem-5988/)

riley6riley 05-14-2007 04:47 PM

1979 Vette charging problem

Still a newbie here. I have received excellent help on this site. My problem this time is everytime I have to start my car I have to jump it. The battery and alternator are new so I am not sure where to start looking. After I jump it the volt meter stays around 8and I have to rev it pretty hard 2 or 3 times before it jumps up to the 12 volt range. Anyone have any ideas.

Thanks

73shark 05-14-2007 08:05 PM

RE: 1979 Vette charging problem

Check all battery, alternator, &connections and make sure they're clean & tite. Then if that doesn't fix it, take the car to a auto parts place that tests batteries and alternators for free. I have put on a new bad alternator and also had a battery fail in one month.

jrs 2.0 05-17-2007 01:38 PM

check spark plugs and distributer, however i'm not a genius but know my share ofstuff

78buckshot 05-17-2007 04:12 PM

Sounds like the new alternator is not responding at the lower engine speed, you need a clean new belt at the proper tension, good electrical connections and a battery that's in shape to accept a charge. temporarily hook a known good battery to the vette and disconnect the the other one, start the engine and let it stay on fast idle, connect a DC volt meter to the donor battery, you should see 13.2-14.8 volts, if it's lower than 13.2 the alternater and/or internal regulator is at fault.

pg 05-17-2007 09:44 PM

Hello again Riley6Riley, You can never assume that just because a battery or alternator is new that is good, do like the other members suggested and you'll find that one or the other is no good. Good luck, PG