Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

headlight motor?

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2007, 01:36 PM
cwb
Default headlight motor?

I got the skip. It rotates the light all the way, but the motor continuesturning for a moment, then stops.

Can I pull the motor without loosening the headlight itself?

Do I have to pull the motor even?

Old 09-24-2007, 06:30 PM
cwb
Default RE: headlight motor?

bumpin' up here....

Old 09-24-2007, 06:48 PM
cwb

ORIGINAL: rshiver

Did you look at the worm gear when you replaced the gears? I'm no expert, and somebody correct me if I'm wrong, butif nothing else,even if the motor doesn't shut off, shouldn't it atleast stall out?You say the motor keeps running which leads me to suspect either the worm gear or the bushing at the end of the worm gear is worn out.

There should be a bushing at the end of the worm gear, if it's worn out, the worm gear may be kicking to one side and continue to run, otherwise it should just stall.

Once a motor hits the limit, a bumper inside the headlight motor slows down the motor to a halt. Once the gear inside the motor housing can no longer turn, the worm gear at the end of the motor will move up, which in turn triggers a limit switch which turns off the current.

It just baffles me that the motor continues to run even after the headlight reaches it's limit.

Go here and read the article, it should give you some idea about what might be wrong. I knowthe articlepertains to a Fiero, butthe headlight motorsare almost identical to the C4 corvettes.

http://www.fieros.de/en/articles/headlight.html
Good explanation!

I 'bolded' a line tho', that I ain't gettin' there... The next line, I'm with ya' on that one. But do you mean, "Once the headlight assembly hits the limit???

I'm gettin' ready to pull mine here...

Old 09-24-2007, 07:02 PM