Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

700R4 Problems with up/down shifts after rebuild due to 3rd/4th Burnt Clutches

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2018, 04:56 AM
Default 700R4 Problems with up/down shifts after rebuild due to 3rd/4th Burnt Clutches

Hello everyone, I would like to introduce myself as I am new to this site and being that this is my first time using forums and I have a feeling like it won't be my last now lol. My name is Nate. I am a new owner into the world of corvettes but I have a great deal of knowledge in the automotive industry. Unfortunately Transmissions are not my world of expertise but I would have great appreciation towards being taught the ropes within these picky and yet important aspects of our vehicles. I do want anyone that is willing to help me with my problem know that, I have done lotssss of reading so rest assured that I am pretty confident that I will be able to keep up very well.

so anyways, for my problem now. I had the need to rebuild my transmission in my 88 vette due to burnt 3/4 clutches and my guess was because what I noticed during removal of the trans is that my TV Cable was way loose. Thus telling me it was far from adjusted correctly and caused me to burn up the clutches. So I purchased a Master Rebuild Kit from Monster Transmissions.