Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

Brake pad swap

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2007, 05:05 AM
Default Brake pad swap

Im getting ready to swap the brake pads on my 86. My braking is horrible, as i use downshifting ALOT to help slow down. The car has 80k miles on it, and im sure the brakes have never been done before.

Im going with o'reilly thermoquiets, because im a poor college student, and ive actually heard good things about them. Maybe they will atleast last me through collegewhen i can afford the good pads.

So my question iswhat othermaterials will i need, besides brake fluid. willi need anyglue, etc? the manual makes it sound really easy, almost like the just snap in.any advice would be great. Also, i took a glance at the rotors, they seem tohave someshallow grooves running around them (i dont think the pads have been grinding yet) should i get them turned or will i be fine using them as is?

Old 01-30-2007, 11:18 AM
Default RE: Brake pad swap

You should have the rotors turned, and lube the slides on your calipers with anti-sieze. We use permatex brand.

Old 01-31-2007, 03:41 PM

Definately, get those rotors turned, my friend... my mechanic once told me if you don't, you'll wear out your new pads prematurely. Good luck!

Old 02-03-2007, 07:25 PM

Poor too. Are you saying your actual brake pads are going to last you thru atleast 2 years of college??? Go get 25.00 dollar ones from autozone. Napas rotors are 15 dollars for the good set a piece and 10 for the lower class set a piece....Not that expensive. Actually its really easy. Everytime I get brake parts they always make me buy that anti-seize **** and it dont do nothing. Waste of money and time IMO....Dont waste the $$ on it. Its only like a dollar a pack but still that dollar may come in handy one day....

Old 02-04-2007, 03:13 AM