Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

Fixing to buy a 90

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2006, 08:34 PM
Default Fixing to buy a 90

Hi all I'm a newbie to this forum so bare with me. I'm looking a buying a 1990 coupe and was wonderning if I was getting a good deal so here we go. It's a 90 with 189000 miles, one owner. Car has been parked and not started since last fall. paint job needs to at least buffing out maybe even repainting. Seals around doors and top probably need replacing. One head light does not pop up. Needs new exhaust in the rear. Needs a couple of emblems. He said the a/c doesnt work but not shur whats exactly wrong with that. Needs new tires and a new battery. I think thats about it. He's asking $4,000. how does this sound or what should I offer him. Also if I get it since it hasnt been statred for a year should I do something special to the engine before I crank her up? I would appreciate any responses. Thanks Jim

Old 10-12-2006, 09:06 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Fixing to buy a 90

Oh man, if you're like me, there's a jewel. Look at all the stuff you get to re-do, how YOOU like it.
3500 as is, if it will just start, not sit and run. If it will sit and run give 'im 3800.
Clean out fuel system, change the oil, check coolant, and brake fluid. New batt., filters, clean or replace plugs, and that should get ya started!

Oh,....Ya..!
Welcome to C.F.

Old 10-13-2006, 12:30 AM

Considering if you dismantled thw car and sold the parts, you'd get at least $15,000. Yeah, almost any Corvette that runs is worth $3800. I looked at a 1989 Convertible at a dealership a month or so ago that wasn't worth $2500, but then again, I'm picky.

Old 10-13-2006, 01:24 AM
Super Moderator

I paid 4500 for the "Starship". Suspension, paint, interior, tires, and rims were shot. But it's a '80 L82 and that's exactly the foundation I wanted to use, to build the "Starship".
All new suspension, rearend, tires and rims. 454 being built now, and have a 3sp w/od. to go in.