Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

FUEL FILTER, DRAINING GAS, HELP A CLUELESS NOOB

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2006, 11:17 AM
Default FUEL FILTER, DRAINING GAS, HELP A CLUELESS NOOB

I HAVE TO PULL THE FUEL FILTER AND DRAIN THE GAS FROM MY NEW C4, ITS BEEN SITTING FOR 3 YEARS WITH THE SAME GAS, HAD LAST BEEN STARTED A YEAR AGO UNTIL LAST NIGHT. I FIRED IT UP A FEW TIME WITH A SPARING AMOUNT OF ETHER, AND IT STARTED RUNNING, BUT REALLY ROUGH, AND WOULD NOT ACCELRATE, THE GAS SMELLS LIKE OLD FURNITURE POLISH. I ASSUME ILL HAVE TO DRAIN THE FUEL AND REPLACE THE FILTER, ANYONE KNOW WHERE THE FILTER IS AND WHAT THE EASIEST WAY TO DRAIN THE TANK IS? ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED

Old 01-21-2006, 03:50 PM
Default RE: FUEL FILTER, DRAINING GAS, HELP A CLUELESS NOOB

I'm not an expert on the C4 tank. It's not that fun on a C5, I can tell you that.

I'd suggst finding someone who can help you, who knows a bit more, and of course, going it carefully. Drain the tank, flush it (after draining, plug it and put a few fresh galloons of gas in, witha can of something you buy at the Auto Store called Sea Foam. Let it sit a while (several hours or overnight) then drain that, too.

Then, fill it with good fuel, discounnect the fuel line at the engine and turn on the ignition and get the fuel pump to push fuel through the fuel line into a drain cup or something (be very safety careful here, have a extinguisher ready, etc.) and let about a quart run through to clear the old crap out of the fuel line. Replace the filter (and count on replacing it again at about 700 miles).

Now fill the tank with at least several gallons, and another can of Sea Foam, and try to start the car. I expect it will still run lousy, but let the engine chew on the Sea Foam for a while, etc. That stuff often really does work very well at cleaning injectors, etc.

Old 01-21-2006, 10:33 PM