Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

fuel system problems

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2006, 08:41 PM
Default fuel system problems

although I am an electronic tech, this is my first corvette, the other day while coming home from work I starting losing speed and eventually it kept dieing and wouldn't go much over 4 or 5 mph. Any suggestions?

Old 02-16-2006, 09:17 PM
Default RE: fuel system problems

That's what mine did when it needed a fuel pump. I lost psi. It's supposed to be around 40 to 45 psi from what I gather. That's what I would check first. This explanation is probably over simplified but replacing the fuel pump cured my problem.

Old 02-25-2006, 02:02 PM

replaced fuel pump this morning, didn't help, i did notice that one exhaust has black smoke coming out of it and the other is sucking in air, I did find one spark plug wire loose, but still no go, every time you push on the excelator it kills the engine or slows down even more.

Old 02-25-2006, 07:20 PM
Super Moderator

Has the car been running bad before this happened? Whay year is it? Older tuned port f/p is 35 - 45, usually operates aaround 35. Sounds like a converter is stopped up. If you pull your O2 sensors out and run it, does it run better? If you have a vacuum gauge, install it on a manifold vacuum source, start engine (with O2's back in), take note of vacuum reading at idle, throttle up to 2000 rpm and hold, reading should return to original reading @ idle or close. If you have very low vacuum, then you probably have an exhaust restriction. [8D]

Old 02-25-2006, 09:03 PM

mech 259 we did crawl under the car and the converter has a hole in it, past the converter its straight pipe out, no muffler.

Old 02-25-2006, 09:15 PM
Super Moderator

What year is the car? 86 and some later, not sure of range, had preconverters, like mine and both were bad. I just cut them out and put pipes in. Post your vacuum readings if you can.

Old 02-26-2006, 02:27 AM