Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

how to do valve cover gaskets

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2007, 02:40 PM
Default how to do valve cover gaskets

All, I have a 84 crossfire,, It does not use oil but I have oil seeping from the bottom of the valave covers..

Can someone tell me how easy this is to fix myself. I need instructions.. for the whole thing as I am not a mechanic..

THanks much

Old 10-12-2007, 03:09 PM
Default RE: how to do valve cover gaskets

Hi, It's not that hard to replace the valve cover gaskets. You may need to pull the plug wires from the spark plugs so you can move them back out of your way, mark them so you'll know where they go when you put them backon. Remove the 4 small bolts holding the cover on and removethe valve cover. Clean any old gasket from the cover and the mating surface on the motor. I use a small amount ofautomotivesilicone sealant to stick the new gasket to the valve cover to help hold the gasket in place while you re-install the valve cover, you can even put small amounton the other side of the gasket if you like. Position the cover so the bolt holes line up and replace the4 bolts. Just snug them down, if you over tighten them they will pinch the new gaskets and could cause them to leak. replace theplug wires and anything else you may have had to move. Good Luck

Old 10-12-2007, 11:02 PM
cwb

Use tape to label rubber emission hoses, and the vacuum nipples they came from. Same for electrical connectors. As soon as a part is out of the way, put EVERY screw back in the empty hole. Beware of spring-loaded parts (although I don't think your procedure involves any).

It's a pain to do it that way, but you won't jam stuff up at re-assembly, and they won't get lost. Sequence of re-assembly is sometimes important. If you really wanna' make sure, do a TOTAL dry/trial fit, and when you're doin' the final fit, you'll remember a sequence error, where you mighta' had to pull a part back off.

Old 10-12-2007, 11:56 PM