Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

hypertech

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2007, 12:29 PM
Default hypertech

thinking of getting a performace chip need input do they help or is it just a waste of time

Old 02-27-2007, 09:24 AM
Default RE: hypertech

I have the hypertech computer, works great i can set my shift points or go back and make any changes after any mods are added.

Old 02-27-2007, 01:53 PM

thanks for the reply is yours the thermo chip or is it reprogrammer thanks

Old 02-27-2007, 03:30 PM

I have a Hypertech Thermomaster chip and 160* Powerstat in my car. It only effects anything when you are at WOT. IMO it is a waste of money. I can feel NO difference (its only supposed to boost HP 15-20, I doubt it does maybe 2 or 3). Get yourself a custom burned chip for roughly the same amount of money and you will be better off.

Old 02-27-2007, 04:28 PM

lee thanks thats what i needed to know thanks

Old 02-28-2007, 01:36 PM

mine is the reprogrammer, if you buy the custom chip , does this limit you to future modsand have to make a new one? On mine i recalabrated after the new wheels, then reprogramed after the new rear end. i have also gone back and changed the shift points. the reprogramer was not bought for the horse power just the ease of changes after mods.

Old 02-28-2007, 01:58 PM

ORIGINAL: eggbutt

mine is the reprogrammer, if you buy the custom chip , does this limit you to future modsand have to make a new one? On mine i recalabrated after the new wheels, then reprogramed after the new rear end. i have also gone back and changed the shift points. the reprogramer was not bought for the horse power just the ease of changes after mods.