Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

Oh my god!

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2010, 03:51 AM
Angry Oh my god!

Hey All;

I am new here and will try to make this as "non-lengthy" as I can...

Did I mention that I may end up in prison for a very long time? No? Well, let me explain...

I am a retired police officer, here in the State of Maine. I was medically retired (I'm only 47 now) after being diagnosed with a rare form of leukemia due to exposure during my work at what once was "The World Trade Center". No further explanation needed.

After going into remission (and then not being in remission) a couple of times, I decided that the time had come to buy my dream car.

I looked and looked and then, on a day I was not looking, I found it: a pristine 1987 Silver-Beige Metallic C-4 Coupe with 21, 666 miles (an omen maybe?). This car came with the original sticker, dealers order sheet, the salesman's card and the calender the original owner got and even the original tires (new ones were recently installed; the guy didn't want the old ones taking up space in his garage.).

I was able to enjoy the 'vette for the summer of '05 and then winter came. I had someone show me how to winterize it, etc. So, springtime '06: Enjoyed the HELL out of it all summer (and somehow managed to put 20k miles on it!), taking care to do the upkeep, etc. I washed and polished this car 3X a week!

Fall of 2006: Cancer came back and, after a pretty dicey period in the hospital for a dozen days, I had to go into a nursing home. I had lost the use of both legs. A good friend offered to go get the car out of impound (I know, Long story!) because, when I was rushed to the ER, I was taking a sightseeing tour around coastal Maine and was staying at a motel. Well, they had the car towed and the impound fee was $1,300.00