Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

optispark distributor question

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2007, 01:07 AM
Default optispark distributor question

Is it possible to get an optispark distributor installed so far out of time that you loose all spark from the coil?

Old 04-11-2007, 01:15 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: optispark distributor question

If you have no spark, then distributor timing does not affect that. If it is out of time then the spark will still be there just not firing in time with compression strokes on the engine. You might have internal probs in the Opti, such as a pickup. I would look elsewhere.

Old 04-11-2007, 01:50 AM

Thanks for the reply LB. I thought that would be the answer, but I'm a rookie at this stuff. Actually, I may have purchased a faulty distributor. It just doesn't seem likely to me. The original opti was working. I bought a MSD, installed it and when I tried to start it, "no spark". It's also logging a failed start code 41 which would (I think) agree with the rest of your reply. I'm not sure, but I think the sensor in the distrib originates the signal going to the coil so it fires?

Old 04-11-2007, 02:14 AM
Super Moderator

A dead giveaway would be watching your tach while cranking. If you have no cranking rpm, then either the pickup is bad, not hooked up correctly, or no power to the distributor. If you can check injector pulse with a "noid" light, that will also tell you there might be dist. problems.

Old 04-11-2007, 03:03 AM

I don't have a noid light set, but no rpms are indicated during cranking. See, I told you I'm a rookie, too bad you don't live next door. <smile> I'd keep you up nights with tons of questions.
I think I checked the power at the connector where the distributor connects to the wiring harness alongside
the fuel rails. I'll check it there again to be sure. I hate to penetrate the wires on the distributor itself in case it is faulty. I'm leaning more in that direction. (you're a good man LB)