Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

rip off?

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2007, 10:25 AM
Default rip off?

Hey guys, getting ready to go get the rear seal in my transmission replaced. Trying to work out who will do the work though. There is a place near my house called Corvettes Only. As the name implies, they specialize in vettes but they also charge 90 bucks an hour. On the other hand, I could use the place that I take my Bronco to. Is this something that a corvette shop should perform or can I use my ASE certified shop that works on a little bit of everything? I realize that this 700r4 tranny is in a lot of cars so I'm inclined to take it to the cheaper place but just wanted some opinions. Thanks for the input. Could be that the answer is fairly obvious but I am new to Denver and don't have regular shops that I use yet.

Old 12-05-2007, 12:08 PM
Default RE: rip off?

Sorry but it usually goes, you get what you pay for. Sometimes you luck up and it doesn't go that way. That transmission is naturally weak though. It's on another forum with that information though. Mine did die but it lost fluid so that explains that.

Old 12-05-2007, 02:04 PM

The transmission was rebuilt with all new parts about 6000 miles ago. I posted before that something was leaking back where the exhaust splits into two pipes and that is right where the u joints and yoke for the driveshaft are. Mech259 said it could either be that seal or something with the tach drive. The tranny seems very strong. It's just that leak.[:@]

Old 12-05-2007, 02:27 PM
Ric

Hi Clayton