Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

SES light came on and my car stalled, believe it's the fuel pump..

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2008, 12:29 AM
Default SES light came on and my car stalled, believe it's the fuel pump..

Hey guys, I have93' 40th ann. ed. andI need some help or a few suggestions... Long story short my Service Engine Soon (SES) light came on about 3 weeks ago,I haven't had the money to get my car diagnosed because everywhereI go its $120 plus. I'm a college student who has very little money at the moment. Anyways,I bought my corvette 4 months ago from a guy pretty much in mint condition, the car has 83,000 miles with new tires, brakes, oil change etc... So this weekendI decided to drive it home to LA from SF. I've made the drive before with NO hassle... But this time wasn't so smooth. About an hour and half (145mi) into my trip my car started to stall, the car was still on but when i gave it gas it wouldn't accelerate. The rpm's stayed at about 1000. Itowed my car back home from whereI stalled. My main concern was it could've been the fuel pump becuase it hasn't been changed since the car came out.I been reading that the fuel pumps go out intermittenly. My mechanici, who was going to originally diagnose the probelm back home for me, told me that the fuel pump could be going out or it might be a very dirty air filter. Then i looked back to the fuel that was put into the car,I did (by accident!) put 87 grade fuel in my car.I have never put that in the vette and to my understanding the engine flutters with anything less then 91 octane.I just replaced the fuel pump today -tomorrow ill replace the fuel filter- and my car is running great but the SES light is still on and I am concerned that it might give out on me again if I drive it longer than an hour or so.... If anyone could help me on any suggestion that would be awesome!!!

Old 10-19-2008, 12:53 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: SES light came on and my car stalled, believe it's the fuel pump..