Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

What'd I do to my clutch?

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2006, 12:59 PM
Default What'd I do to my clutch?

Please excuse any ignorance...I'm new to Corvettes and manual transmissions.

I got my '92 with ~80K miles about a month ago as my manual learner car. I haven't been too bad..I did the usual bucking for a few days, and maybe 3-4 panic stalls when I got confused and let the clutch out instead of the brake in 1st or reverse, but that's it. I never noticed any related bad noises, smells, or problems shifting during this period.

A couple of weeks ago, I noticed that there was a strong burning smell when the car was cold and I was shifting in the lower gears. It was more noticeable if I shifted into 2nd AFTER the RPMs were high enough to get out of one to four mode. It usually went away after driving for 5+ minutes and/or in higher gears. I noticed it once when idling and once on the highway when I'd been in 6th so I didn't know if it was clutch-related or not.

Recently, that seems to have calmed, but now something else's going on. My fiance noticed a couple of times that, with the clutch in all the way, he was having some problems shifting into 3rd and was getting some grinding. Two days ago, he noticed that the clutch was engaging REALLY low, maybe a couple of inches from the floor, which was a change. I'd noticed it too but didn't think much of it until the next day when we had a tought time getting the car into reverse or 1st in the driveway..it feels like the clutch isn't fully disengaged though it's pressed to the floor.

So, I guess my questions are:

What could the burning smell be, and why?
What's going on with the clutch? How did I do it? I don't want to kill the clutch (or synchros) every month...
Can we adjust or fix it, or test things, ourselves? I don't want my cluelessness to cost $$$ that it doesn't have to.

Thanks!

Old 10-09-2006, 01:36 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: What'd I do to my clutch?