Corvette C5 Forum 1997 through 2004

Check engine light- rough idle

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2008, 08:26 AM
Default Check engine light- rough idle

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum as well as new to Corvettes. This is my first one. Just picked up an 04 CoupeThursday, it has 16,000 mi on it and it's in pristine condition.
However about 60 miles into my drive home going about 65 in 6th gear the engine started sputtering a bit, I downshifted into 5th but it continued for about a minute and went away. This happened 2 more times on my 300 mi trip home. Just before I got home the check engine light came on and the engine started idling rough.
Searched this forum and found out how to check codes (thanks!). Currently I have no new codes however there were about 14 historical codes..PCM, IPC and HVAC. apparetnly this car had some issue in the past, hopefully this is not an indication of any chronic problems.

I'm no professional mechanic but kind of acts like I got some bad gas. I filled up atone of thosebig stations...multiply pumps, food store lots of traffic etc.... And yes I did buy Premium 93 octane.

The car ran great when I test drove it but prior to making the trip back home I topped off the tank...itwas 1/2 full.

Has anyone experienced this or know what might be the problem and how to fix without taking it to the $$Dealer.

Any help or suggestions appreciated,

Nick.

Old 12-13-2008, 09:38 AM
Default RE: Check engine light- rough idle

Well,Papanick,Welcome to the world of Corvettes. Get ready to spend the money you saved not buying an '09! (just kidding) Sounds like you have already bought or borrowed a code reader,you also need a pretty good digital multimeter,a fuel pressure guage and a good shop manual. For your problem I might check the screen on the fuel pump and the fuel filter.
Ron

Old 12-13-2008, 10:18 AM

Thanks for the reply Partsman, I'll start there.