Corvette C5 Forum 1997 through 2004

Removing clutch is trans fluid drained

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2017, 01:46 PM
Default Removing clutch is trans fluid drained

1st I want to preface I am no mechanic. I change oil/filters and brake pads & rotors and basic routine maintenance.
Anything above that I rely on friends and Visa.

I have an 03 Z06 which is primarily my HPDE Track car. I drive it to & from the track and some weekend drives. It has appox 55,000 miles on it.

I'm trying to find out if the trans fluid is drained when replacing the clutch.
My car has a trans cooler mounted behind the driver forward of the L/Rear Wheel.

Here's my story.
Year ago ran into a trans problem at the track. After researching the symptoms and the proper fix my research brought me to a performance shop specializing in Vettes and Trans. This shop is 200 miles from me had stellar reviews. So I had the car flat-bedded to this shop. Had trans rebuilt to withstand the stresses of the track. All the internals were upgraded, aluminum components were replaced with steel and other wear items with bronze. And added a few more things to help insure track reliability and longevity. I questioned whether clutch needed replacing and was told No, it looks good.

Fast forward to this year. My clutch goes while at the track. I initially was not sure what the problem was because at low and normal speeds everything worked as it should. But under track stress it did not. A few more mechanically gifted Vette guys at the track took their turns checking it out and consensus was Clutch.
Did not want to ship it 200 miles, so this time bring car to a shop only 30 miles from me. They confirm clutch needs to be replaced. It's done all is good.

Drive the 30 miles to my home
Next week drive 400 mile round trip to track + appox another 100 track miles
2 weeks later drive 200 miles to the track and maybe another 50 on the track before all goes wrong