Corvette C6 Forum 2005+

Can 1 -> 4 shift be turned off?

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2006, 12:51 AM
Default Can 1 -> 4 shift be turned off?

I've been driving manual shift cars since about 1963. I don't need to have my car tell me to shift from 1st to 4th, and none ever has tried to force me to do that until my 2007 C6.

But it only does it sometimes, when it feels like it. It's damn distracting and frustrating, especially in heavy stop and go traffic when I'm driving with the turkeys in their Saturns (have you all noticed how they are the stone-slowest drivers on the road, or is it just me?), elderly Camrys and minivans - and they can all beat me to the hole in the traffic. Even a Corvette has no torque at all at 22 mph in 4th gear. I know GM designed the transmission to do this to meet some CAFE standards, but I don't like it.

Before I ask my service manager to turn it off and he gives me a negative, does anyone out there know if it can, indeed, be defeated? It messes up a great car.

Mike from Allentown

Old 10-28-2006, 11:00 AM
Default RE: Can 1 -> 4 shift be turned off?

Funny you should mention this. I too found it odd and asked the rep if it could be turned off. He seemed to believe that it couldn't. I then went from 1 to 3 or took off in second. Other than additional stress on the clutch, the car had plenty of torque.

Old 10-28-2006, 01:30 PM

No: the CAGS can not be turned off or the car would not qualify for the extra fuel economy credit it brings in government tests (it's worth about 1 mpg in the city).

You can buy something called an I-CAGS (Interrupt Computer Assisted Gear Shift) for around $29. It is a small wiring harness with a fitting and you install it easily: get under the car, find the CAGS wiring (goes into the side of the transmission) -- pull it out, insert the ICAGS into the transmission plug, then plug the CAGS wiring into the end of the ICAGS. The ICAGS now convinces the car's computer that the shifts are going as planned.