General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Horn not working? Has power!

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2007, 08:09 AM
Default Horn not working? Has power!

Hi. The horns on my 79 just quit working? tested contact area in steering wheel w/ trouble light & it shows power? Any ideas? I'm not a mechanic by any means, so any help or suggestions would be appreciated!!!

Old 07-16-2007, 08:14 AM
Default RE: Horn not working? Has power!

If it is the same as my 81... There is a horn relay about 4 inches or so "up" from the fuse panel. If it was an "all of a sudden" failure", this is the most likely candidate. When you make contact in the horn button, you should at least hear the click coming from the fuse panel area.

bill.

Old 07-16-2007, 09:09 AM

It is the same as 1981, I have a 79 as well and mine done the same thing more than likely this is your problem. Should be a little bleck relay with 3 terminals that plug into a socket in the harness.
Hope this helps

Old 07-16-2007, 09:38 AM

checkall your fuses before you replace the relay. dont just check the horn fuse (hazard fuse i believe) check them all.

Old 07-16-2007, 12:21 PM
cwb

ORIGINAL: bernie3

Hi. The horns on my 79 just quit working? tested contact area in steering wheel w/ trouble light & it shows power? Any ideas? I'm not a mechanic by any means, so any help or suggestions would be appreciated!!!
If you got power at the horn button, did you jump it with a piece of wire, to see if the hornbutton is what's failing to make the contact?

EDIT: Oops! Never mind wire! There's a lotta' juice there. Use needlenose pliers.

Old 07-17-2007, 09:45 AM

also check out your horns i believe if one horn is bad it can affect the other horn. just a thought but easy enough to check before you go replacing things.

Old 07-17-2007, 10:16 AM
cwb

ORIGINAL: Phill