New Member Area Introduce yourself and your Corvette here.

New to the Forum, 1999 Black FRC

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2006, 12:22 AM
Default New to the Forum, 1999 Black FRC

Just bought (12/30/05) a 1999 Black FRC with 14,700 miles on it. It was a 'crash victim' with no frame or suspension damage, just plastic and thin metal damage. Car was a lease and sat for a long time while being repaired to the lease company's (Chevrolet Dealer) standards. Finally came up for sale between Xmas and New Years. Bought it on emotion (I know a really dumb way to buy a car). I've been reseraching C5s for three years, but still a dumb way to buy a Corvette. I inspected it top to bottom (Excpt the battery area, see later note) and the repairs looked good, no apparent repair activity on the frame. A lot of surface rust on the bottom from sitting OUTSIDE in the snow and rain (my guess) until repaired. Car was housed and driven in Eastern Ohio/Wwestern PA. Paint was good with mostly swirl marks from poor maintenance. So far I've fixed the driver's door (It was missing H/W and was loose), matched the plugs and headlight bezel (he only replaced one of the bezels with a newer one after the accident), added two new front tires (He put on two new ones for sales purpose), changed the oil, oil filter, and air filter. Brakes were OK. Took it to Goss's Auto World in Seabrook, MD. Had them check car out (I know should have done it before I bought, just had a feeling this is a good one). Goss's garage informed me the car was in an accident, but all the damage was superficial and fixed correctly. WHEW!!! gambled and won!. Had the cooling system and power steering system flushed and fluids replaced. Had them align all 4 wheels and balance the tires. Goss's garage uses the Hunter 9700 alignment machine and the Road Force balancer. NONE of the alignment settings were right when I brought it in. They dialed all of them within specs. Between the balance and alignment car tracks like it's on rails.