Off Topic A place to boldy go off topic of Corvette's. almost anything goes!

I hope it was a deal...

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2007, 12:28 AM
Default I hope it was a deal...

Hey everyone, i am new to this fourm and this is my first post! I used to be on the Nissan 300zx fourms but got tired of the Japanese hardware BREAKING, so i sold my Z car and went car shopping. I just bought my first corvette this past Saturday and its a white 1985 corvette. The story behind this corvette is as follows: The woman that i bought it from recieved it from her brother after he passed away along with a few other items. It is an automatic, has 130,xxx miles on the body, and less than 10,000 miles on the new engine and transmission(varified by paper work). The Corvette seems to have originally been silver but was at some time during the ownership of the man who owned it before me painted white with lots of pearl because the original paint peeled off. The interior is black with black leather seats.

Why i hope this is a good deal is because it has a few blemishes. To start, the paint has about a place the size of a half dollar where the white paint is gone near the back glass.(That is how I knew the car was originally silver) The corvette also has a line of chips in the paint where the hood and front bumper meet, and that is all for the exterior. Now the other problems that remain are: the air conditioning doesnt work(no freon), driver's side seat doesn't move around(the electric seat stuff doesn't function), and a door panel is off where the last owner replaced a window motor.

The woman started the price at $3,500, but because money talks, I got it for $2,800. And let me state that i am a FORD guy(I got a 1972 Pinto Drag Car with a 351W, and I also have a 1996 SHO Taurus), but a Corvette is a Corvette. Given all the information, do you all think I made a good deal on this buy and do you all think I can get my money out of it if I need to.