Corvette C3 Forum 1968 through 1982

Should I buy this car?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2007, 10:27 PM
Default Should I buy this car?

Newbie here. Am interested in a 73 vette, 4 speed big block which owner says has 63k miles but speedometer doesn't work and the engines been rebuilt, also new leaf springs, shocks, clutch, exterior is orange with good paint but the interior needs carpet, seats, etc. for $17k. If the speedometer doesn't work the odometer doesn't either right? Seems like this car has many more miles on than the odometer shows. What do you think. Thanks for the help.
Greg

Old 01-25-2007, 12:54 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Should I buy this car?

Well......number of miles is important but type of miles is more important. what shape is the under carrige in? are things like the steering loose or excessively worn. if things have been replaced or rebuilt and everything works as it should and the car was taken care of than number of miles doesn't matter. How does it run? Ride? Handle? any noise in the rearend? when was it last registered? is it original or have major parts been replaced. numbers matching. that doesn't really matter to me but it does to collecters and show judges. seams high to me but I'm a cheap skate.

Old 01-25-2007, 01:04 AM
Super Moderator

For 17g's?, I'd look around some.
There are some great deals out there!

try...
www.corvettetrader.com

Old 01-25-2007, 01:09 AM
Super Moderator

ORIGINAL: C3 Starship

For 17g's?, I'd look around some.
There are some great deals out there!

try...
www.corvettetrader.com

And......http://proteamcorvette.com/ for comparison shopping.

Old 01-25-2007, 01:09 AM

Ditto, keep shopping. I might go 17k for a decent 73 big block vert, but not without the drop top... but then again, if the car is worth that to *you*, then it will make you happy.

bill.

Old 01-25-2007, 01:22 AM
Super Moderator