Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

91 Vette wiring issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2007, 02:22 PM
Default 91 Vette wiring issue

I'm working on a family friend's vette trying to figure out where his electrical issue is because I have some background in car electronics. so here's the problem.
Car won't make a noise. no door chime, no lights on the dash nothing. we had previously thought the battery was pooched and had something to do with the stereo he had professionally installed a few years back.We bought a new battery this morning.
I disconnected the stereo from the battery. nothing. I disconnected his factory alarm. still nothing.
I get to the ignition wires and they're all in tact with the except of where the installers made the neccessary connectionsfor thealarm - but it's disconnected so it wouldn't have an effect either way.
I begin testing the wires only to find that thechassissomehow has a full charge- 12.71 volts. is this something that happens frequently in 91 vettes or is this something that none of you have heard of.
- keep in mind that if it was just a short there would be no voltage at all.

if you guys could help I would be in your debt and my friend would even more grateful.

Old 06-16-2007, 05:40 PM
Default RE: 91 Vette wiring issue