Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

overheating..

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2007, 03:35 PM
Default overheating..

I just bought a 1993 and in traffic it overheats and starts running bacd, almost to the point it stalls. when not in traffic it starts to cool. it gets almost to 245 or so.....I have no check engine light or other indications..... can someone help??? I am new to vettes ....thanks.... Todd

Old 07-14-2007, 03:47 PM
Default RE: overheating..

What I do when mine starts to get hot is to turn on the heater. It seems to activated the cooling fan which in turn cools the engine down.

Old 07-14-2007, 03:58 PM

First, clean out the air intake system. Your case sounds severe. I'd recommend removing the upper radiator shroud completely. You're going to find a lot of crap in there. Hell, Jimmy Hoffa might even be in there. Do a thorough and complete cooling system flush. Verify that your fans are operating properly, etc., etc. I'm surprised that your red "check gauges" light isn't coming on at 245 degrees. If it hasn't, it's not far from it.

Old 07-14-2007, 05:42 PM

Below you will find my first post on my 86, in addition just today I swapped out the repaired radiator for a brand new one and changed out the a/c condenser as well while I was in there( could hardly see through the old one) seems to have helped with the high speed overheating but still over heats at an idle, next weekend I am going to double check the timing and readjust the valves, and I am now looking into maybe the oil cooling area as the oil temp is running 25 degrees hotter than the coolant temp may be a problem there if I get it figured out before you do I will let you know I would hate to see anyone go through the time and money I have so far to no avail! Good luck!