Corvette C5 Forum 1997 through 2004

ANNOYING FRONT END SQUEAKS

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2006, 03:06 PM
Default ANNOYING FRONT END SQUEAKS

Ok, I'm a newbie here, but been browsing the forums, and from what I could tell, looks and sounds like an excellent site with a lot of great info.
Now for my question : We just bought our C5, 1998 convertible, Torch Red with about 37,000 miles.
What is with this annoying front end squeaks, of course I notice it more driving through town, and I wonder if the people next to me can hear me coming, ok I guess it's not that loud but inside it sure sounds loud.
Could it be the sway bar bushings, i have read where the factory ones make some noise.
Any help and advice would be appreciated, Thanks

[IMG]local://upfiles/2979/8E00EEAE270C4300A7077F87AFD30216.jpg[/IMG]

Old 08-16-2006, 03:52 PM
Default RE: ANNOYING FRONT END SQUEAKS

Beautiful car, my friend, and welcome to the forums!! Unfortunately I know nothing about your query here, and will now step aside for one of our experts to jump in...

Old 08-16-2006, 04:39 PM

It could be the sway bars, but it might be the struts, or something else. Given the car is new to you, but used, I'd have it checked out, and have the mechanic look over everything else carefully, too. 37K miles is a bit early for struts to give out, but unwanted noise in a car is like pain in your body -- a signal that something isn't quite right, and that unless you attend to it it will get worse.

Old 08-16-2006, 04:56 PM
Super Moderator