Corvette C5 Forum 1997 through 2004

NEWBIE WITH QUESTIONS ON ZO6 PURCHASE

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2005, 11:17 AM
Default NEWBIE WITH QUESTIONS ON ZO6 PURCHASE

Hello all. I'm new to the Chevy side of the street and really have no inclination of ups or downs to a ZO6. Probably 2002-2004 models. What are the weak links in a vette? Does the bottom end of the blocks hold up? Heads, cams o.k.? clutch, tranny, rear, IRS.? Thanks in advance.

I'm recovering from just selling my 03 Cobra which was highly modified, streetable, but no longer fun to drive, big heads and cams, Detroit Locker. Still had the IRS and 6 speed though and could pull the wheels very easily at the track, slicks and skinnies, of course.
I loved the Cobra, but got to be a money pit. When driving down the highway and you see a Cobra, people say, hey look, it's a mustang, when people see a vette, the say WOW, there's a Vette...

There's no question, Vettes are HOT and chicks dig'em.

I would not mind modding the vette a little, but want to be able to enjoy it , not have it on a trailer all the time on the way to the track, maybe a chip, nice exhaust, CAI.

To replace the heads on a Cobra, the motor HAS to come out, PIA..... How is it with the Vettes? Is there any big gains to be had with H/C on the N/A motor???

Thanks again, looks like a real good forum board for Vettes..

J.R.

Old 11-29-2005, 01:36 PM
Default RE: NEWBIE WITH QUESTIONS ON ZO6 PURCHASE

Q: " What are the weak links in a vette? Does the bottom end of the blocks hold up? Heads, cams o.k.? clutch, tranny, rear, IRS.?"