Corvette C6 Forum 2005+

How many C6 owners know that you must park them in reverse in order to shutdown the electronics?

Old 08-14-2007, 07:43 AM
Default How many C6 owners know that you must park them in reverse in order to shutdown the electronics?

Trying to find out how many C6 owners are aware that they must park their standard shifts in reverse to save the battery. It might also be helpful to know how many knew before they purchased the vehicle.

Old 08-14-2007, 11:41 AM
Default RE: How many C6 owners know that you must park them in reverse in order to shutdown the electronics?

I read your other post, so I sort of know the answer. But why? So when you park uphill you also have to engage reverse (instead of a proper 1st gear) and risk the car sliding backwards?

I'm new to this as I'm learning about Corvettes and this the second strange item I found. The first was the 1st-4th gear start pattern. [:-]

Old 08-14-2007, 02:39 PM
Default RE: How many C6 owners know that you must park them in reverse in order to shutdown the electronics?

Well, you can get rid of the forced 1-4 shift by installing an i-Cags.

Old 08-14-2007, 09:01 PM

It doesn't matter if the shifter is in first or reverse, the engine will act as a brake the same way. Now if you put it in 6th it wouldn't brake very well, due to the gear ratio (more revs at the wheels to fewer revs at the motor gives more mechanical advantage to the wheels to turn the engine over against the force of compression).

Old 08-14-2007, 09:27 PM
pg

Hi cfmosier, and welcome to the forum, so you have to put the car in reverse, so that's the way there made, what's the problem?
On a C-3 automatic you have to put it in "N" apply the parking brake and shift into "P". PG.

Old 08-15-2007, 10:43 AM