New Z06 owner needing advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2008, 10:46 PM
Default New Z06 owner needing advice

Vette Nation,

I'm fairly new to Corvettes and bought my first one in November '07 ('07 black on black power top convertible, auto w/ paddle shifters,z51 package, and 2LZ interior). Well I was about to drop some dough on Kooks headers, X-over pipe, and Corsa Sport exhaust, Veraram Intake, professional tuning by a shop out of Pearland, TX, and a date with the dyno machine.
After crunching all the numbers and hearing about 0% GMAC's offering on all '08 Vettes I went down to the dealership to see about using the money on the above mentioned upgrades to get a new Vette instead. I test drove an '08 Z06 and needless to say I am a new Z06 owner
What a machine!
I actually was able to get an amazing deal on an '09 Z06, so I am the proud owner of a black '09 Z06 with 3LZ interior. I have a few questions that I have not been able to locate the answers on just yet and I also wanted to see about some advice.

1. Tunable Exhaust...? Can only find info on the '08's. Can someone point me in the right direction here? I also read some reviews that say the only thing they would improve would be a beefier exhaust, i.e. Kooks headers, X-over, and Corsa Exhaust...sigh...will have to waitfor that upgrade.
2. Shift limiter 1-4 gear. The manual states that when starting in 1st gear you are forced to hit 4th gear before you make another gear selection. I have seen some kits that eliminate that forced shift. I have never owned a stick before but learned how years back on a family ranch on an old 3 on the tree Ford pickup. Any comments on the above forced gear shift question and/or advice on "do's" and "dont's" for a new stick driver? For example is it okay for me to start in 2nd gear most of the time?
3. Front Auxiliary Input Jack. Can this take an MP3 player I assume? Ipod or normal MP3 player?