Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

92 vette has no spark, help!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2007, 12:42 PM
Default 92 vette has no spark, help!!!!

This is a 92 6 speed vette. After shifting hard into third gear the thing just died. The fuel pump is working, i can hear it when i turn the key. I pulled a plug and cranked it and saw no spark. Could it be the coil pack? loose ground strap? Any ideas?

Old 06-01-2007, 01:22 PM
Default RE: 92 vette has no spark, help!!!!

ok, i read and learned that this car has the opti spark dist. The car has not seen rain in 10 years and it does not leak coolant. where is the coil? i dont see a ignition wire leading to a coil anywhere.

Old 06-01-2007, 01:33 PM

ORIGINAL: bergs

ok, i read and learned that this car has the opti spark dist. The car has not seen rain in 10 years and it does not leak coolant. where is the coil? i dont see a ignition wire leading to a coil anywhere.
I am no expert here, but I *believe* that the coil is integrated into the opti spark unit itself. It's a bear to get at, from what I recall on my LT1 in the Camaro I used to have. It's typically right underneath the water pump, you should be able to trace the wire looms back to it,if I recall correctly.

Some folks have had problems with the opti's in the rain and going through car washes. They are a bitfragile in thatregard. Was there anywater at all near your car when it died?

Of course, the other possibility is the opti just gave up the ghost. I have heard of that as well, before.

But, anyways, I defer to some of our experts here to chime in and provide some more details and/or corrections to my post here.

Old 06-01-2007, 05:22 PM
Super Moderator

does the neutral safety switch interrupt the spark or the entire ignition? Just a guess.

Old 06-01-2007, 08:44 PM