Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

About to pull the trigger -

Old 09-30-2006, 10:24 PM
Default About to pull the trigger -

- on my first Corvette!

Hi everyone - I've been reading your forum (and the other one) for some months now doing the right thing and researching up on my dream car. I really appreciate the amout of info available and the friendly nature of this forum. I'm after a 96 C4 LT4 6-speed and finally have all the money together.

Anyway I went to see a car today- the one I've really had my eye on for a while - and spent about 3 hours with the guy driving and talking - he even drove me up to his local Corvette garage and introduced me to the mechanics and people in the shop that know him and the car. So the owner checks out. The car - now this is my first time even driving a corvette - any corvette - but I do know cars and I couldn't find anything wrong with it. Mechanically it's great, with all the paperwork and recent water pump, opti, cam chain, seals, shocks and some other small things. No leaks I could see, weather stripping is good and tyres are good. I do have a couple of questions tho :

1. The interior was ok for a 10 yr old car - not the best vette I've seen pics of, and there are sheepswool seat covers - not my style but at least they matched the carpet. But there was a weird puke smell which I had to bring up (no pun intended ha!). There was a brand new air freshner which was pretty overpowering and the interior had recently been cleaned with all the usual plastic cleaners. The bad smell went away pretty quick once the air was turned on and windows opened, etc. but its bugging me. I noticed all kinds of smells when the owner showed me what the car was really capable of, one of which was coming from the tyres. So is it normal to get this smell - is it from the aircon maybe? Or a combination of bad air freshner, cleaners and tyres? The car has been standing for a couple of months.