Corvette C4 Forum 1984 through 1996

Hard Brake - Now won't Idle with HVAC on

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2022, 02:03 PM
Post Hard Brake - Now won't Idle with HVAC on

Hi all. I'm a new vet owner (2 wks.) I have a '88 Z52 with 50k mi. on it. I am looking forward to years of enjoyment with this car. It was running great till last Sat. I had to brake abruptly, though not extreme. After that, my car won't idle if the air or heat is turned on. I'm talking a rather violent right/left shake under the hood. The idler jumps up and down. I had the alternator tested. It was defective. I replaced it and even had it re-tested but did not fix problem. I'm looking to take to a vet guy for repair next week. When I try to google the problem, I get it could be the IAC, ECM, MAF, ICM, EGR or other 3 letter things I know nothing about. I'm extremely mechanically inclined, just not so much under the hood. I don't understand how the braking hard would cause this. I sure would appreciate any advice. Any ideas?

Last edited by Hisown; 08-12-2022 at 02:07 PM.
Old 08-12-2022, 11:35 PM

It sounds like a good sized vacuum leak to me. Start with the basics. Check all of your vacuum lines.
If necessary get a vacuum line plug kit and remove and plug lines one at a time. Could be a bad booster.
Does anything change when you shut off the heater controls completely? They're also vacuum controlled if I remember correctly.

Old 08-13-2022, 11:29 AM