General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

How to disable pass side airbags - C5

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2006, 05:11 PM
Default How to disable pass side airbags - C5

Hey guys, a newbie here! I'm about to pick up my second Vette since having sold my '90 6-spd Z51 coupe in '01 in order to go wheel-to-wheel racing with SCCA. The new ride is a '99 C5, torch red w/ black leather. Corsa Indy exhaust, magnesium wheels. Sweet ride. Anyway..... here's my delimma: I have a 5 year old and a 3 year old, and occasionally plan on driving the Vette to work, as will my wife from time to time. However, no matter which one of us is driving, one of us will have a kid in the passenger seat since she takes the daughter to school in the AM's and I drop off the son at daycare in the AM's. Knowing that it's not considered safe for kids to ride in the front seats with airbags, particularly the older "safety-nanny" airbags that were just way too powerful, I'm wondering if there is a quick and easy way to disable the passenger side airbag without affecting the driver side airbag, or setting an error code w/ the PCM. I'm almost positive that the T1 class corvettes have to have their airbags disabled for competition per SCCA rules, so I'm wondering how they do it and if that would be acceptable for street use, or if there is some sort of module that can be wired/plugged in to trick the computer into thinking the airbag is still connected/functioning.

Any ideas or advice?

Thanks in advance!

Old 10-06-2006, 06:53 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: How to disable pass side airbags - C5

Welcome to CF.
I can't help with the Air-bag, but I sure would like to pick your brain on setting up a Vette for the SCCA!!!

Old 10-06-2006, 07:54 PM

Man
sorry can't help you with the air bag, but welcome to the forum anyway!

Old 10-11-2006, 04:30 PM