Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Oil pressue gauge not working

  #1  
Old 03-03-2009, 01:33 PM
vettemanrob's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 89
Default Oil pressue gauge not working

Hi all I have an 02 convertible and a few months ago my oil pressure gauge stopped working, it reads pressure out the roof. I havent had time lately but is there a fuse or something that can be checked? I have tried to get some type of repair manual for my car but nothing is available or at least I dont know where to look. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Robert
 
  #2  
Old 03-03-2009, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central North Carolina
Posts: 2,105
Default

You can get a a three-volume set of service manuals from Ecklers. There will be a diagnostic step by step for this problem, and just about any problem, in there.

Without going through that you don't know whether it is just the gauge or if the sending unit or of the entire gauge and warning lights/warning system for oil pressure has also failed, in which case you have no knowledge of oiling problems should they occur. But hey, engine rebuilds are inexpensive!
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-2009, 10:18 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default Is it dangerous to drive/

Is this a common failure and can you drive 30 to 40miles safely before getting this fixed? A sensor or sending unit failure should not hurt the motor, right?
THX
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-2009, 02:04 PM
vettemanrob's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 89
Default

Thanks Lee, will check into it soon, and Marco I have been driving it every now and then since it happened ( being sure to check my oil level and keeping an eye on my other gauges ). A friend told me it was probably an oil sending unit and it is located under the intake manifold. Sounds like a weekend job.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-2009, 12:53 PM
crearry09's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Default Oil pressue gauge not working

Just get a new switch. and change your oil at regular intervals. When it is cold the viscosity of the oil is much higher and may do this. It is not a problem.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
chrisdann1
Corvette C5 Forum
6
03-04-2009 03:10 PM
DryCreamer
Corvette C3 Forum
2
05-05-2008 05:03 PM
RudeDog
Corvette C4 Forum
5
06-06-2007 10:01 PM
Corvette C5 Forum
1
07-04-2006 01:23 PM
Rocks 99
General Tech
4
11-12-2005 09:03 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Oil pressue gauge not working


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.