New Member Area Introduce yourself and your Corvette here.

My 41st Vette and the best yet!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2006, 12:29 AM
Default My 41st Vette and the best yet!!!

Hello everyone. I have been rebuilding and restoring Vettes for 35 years. I have owned all generations except the C1. I have been rebuilding totals that I bought from the insurance companies, frame offs, all the way to ones that just needed cosmetics. I had gotten away from them for the last 10 years but decided to jump back in since the prices for the C5s have gotten a little softer since the C6s have come out. Bought a 2001 metallic Navy Blue Convertible with light Oak top and interior with less than 50K on it two months ago. I have not driven the C6 yet but the C5 is the nicest I have owned yet. The first Vette that I have owned that I can actually take a long distance trip in and not be a cripple when I get out. Had a slight problem with the passenger side door losing power. I could have tracked it down in a few hours but with the help of this forum and wisdom of other Vette owners experience I had it tracked down and fixed in less than an hour. Thanks Forum. This is what the internet is all about. I have belonged to many Vette Owners clubs over the years and now am proud to be a part of a Worldwide Club through this forum. Thanks again and keep on waving. Bob

Old 07-18-2006, 12:45 AM
Default RE: My 41st Vette and the best yet!!!

I've driven several C6s and they feel about like the C5s - not sure you could tell the difference blindfolded.

Given you experience with vettes, I'm curious what is your favorite model. The 1970 big block, hydraulic lifter (400 HP) coupe with a 4-speed has always been my favorite.

Old 07-18-2006, 01:40 AM