Corvette C5 Forum 1997 through 2004

electronic cutouts

Old 09-03-2007, 06:00 AM
Default electronic cutouts

Hey I heard some of these the other day on a dodge charger hemi and they sounded AWESOME. I want to get some for my c5, (they are electronic, so at the push of a button/switch you can go from your regular mufflers to the cutouts and back etc). Ive looked at two kits and one advertises that it makes 20 rwhp gain (!!!) but I have a feeling this is an exaggeration, at the least. I heard that if u lose too much backpressure u might end up losing some power. Does anyone with a c5 have cutouts or electronic cutouts? Are these legal in california? (im guessing they should be, im only gonna be using them "on the track" RIGHT, and electronic NOS bottle openers are legal if not mistaken). Do these add power? Thanks

Old 09-03-2007, 08:38 AM
Default RE: electronic cutouts

Not sure about the cutouts because I have no experience with them but as for electronic bottle openers...you can get busted on California public roads for having an electronic bottle opener on your bottle if your line is also hooked up to the bottle. It would be the same concept as if your bottle had the manual valve, line hooked up, andwithin reach from the drivers seat.